Skip to content

30:04

November 30, 2010
tags: ,

I haven’t blogged in a week! It feels like it has been forever.  The husband and I headed “home” Wednesday night and after I logged off of my work computer that afternoon, I didn’t get back on a computer until yesterday.  I spent our entire visit home unplugged (except for helping my mom with some internet shopping) and it was actually pretty nice!  I had a very relaxing holiday and visit home and didn’t worry about what was happening online.

I am now working on getting caught up on the blogs that I read and some of you might notice some late comments appearing from me.  🙂

Anyway…  I know you’re all waiting in breathless anticipation to hear how the Turkey Trot went, right?

Waiting at the start (you can't see me in this picture, I'm mid-pack)

On Thanksgiving morning, I ran my second ever 5K race. It was 29 degrees Fahrenheit and snowing.

There I am (in the grey and white fleece jacket and black pants), waiting to get started.

I FINISHED IT IN 30:04! 30:04!

I know the clock says 30:03 but my official chip time was 30:04. (Oh and I got hot and took off my jacket and tied it around my waist, I am in the blue long-sleeve shirt.)

My goals were: 1) To have fun – check! 2) Finish faster than my first 5K (33:53) – check! 3) Finish at or under 30 minutes – While I was over by 4 seconds, I am going to say check for this one! 30:04 is damn close to a 30 min. 5K! (Particularly in those conditions!)

Just after I finished. Hahaha.

I finished my first mile in 9:25, which is the fastest I have ever run a mile! I hit the 2 mile mark at 19:02. My average pace was 9:42, which is so, so, so awesome for me!  Remember I usually struggle to even run a 10 min. mile?  To have an average pace under 10 min., I can’t even hardly believe it!

At first I was disappointed by missing my goal by 4 seconds but I am very proud of myself. I worked very hard and I ran well and I knocked almost 4 min. off my old time. I did fantastic.

My mother-in-law, step-father-in-law, grandma, grandpa, mom and the husband were all there to watch me. My grandpa missed seeing me come in to the finish (just didn’t recognize that it was me when I ran by). I feel sad for him. 😦 I saw him and thought he saw me. I should have waved. Poor grandpa.

My grandpa was really excited.

I hope all of my American friends had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

This morning I got up and did and hour of yoga before getting ready for work and it felt so good. I love yoga.  I’m sure I’m going to be doing more and more of it as the weather gets colder.  I am going to try to keep up with running as I can but I find running on the treadmill much more difficult since transitioning to outside and I just don’t have the gear needed for running outside when it’s very cold.

Better get back to the project currently on my needles!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Chico permalink
    November 30, 2010 7:30 pm

    Congrats on your race! Nothing like smashing personal records! Way to Go!

  2. December 1, 2010 9:29 am

    That’s such an awesome 5K time!!! congrats!!! 🙂

  3. December 5, 2010 1:25 pm

    Congrats on your race & way to meet your goals!
    I love yoga too — Dave & I just finished1.5 hr yoga this morning before heading out to climb — it feels so good.
    What is your project?! I really enjoy knitting & am always excited to see what others are working on.

    • December 14, 2010 10:44 am

      Thanks, Allie!

      Yoga just makes me feel good all over. 🙂

      The project currently on my needles is a scarf for my niece. However, I’m not sure it’s going to be done for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

