Skip to content

Anticipating the Turkey (Trot)

November 22, 2010
tags: , ,

I am very much looking forward to “going home” for Thanksgiving! Currently the husband and I live about 3.5-4 hours from where I grew up (and where his mom, step-dad and brother and sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew now live).  We haven’t been back home since the husband’s birthday in July and I am missing my family and friends!  Just a few more days and we’ll be there!

I am looking forward to relaxing with our families, playing with our niece and nephew, visiting with friends we haven’t seen in a long time, seeing my grandparents, going to the local Christmas parade and eating lots of good food!

I’m also looking forward to the Turkey Trot 5K Thanksgiving morning!

On Saturday I did an quick 2.08 miles before we headed off to the farmers market.

Check out my splits.

Look at mile 2.  Oh yeah!  That’s right!  I ran a mile in under 10 minutes!  First time ever! I was pretty excited.  Heck, I’m still pretty excited.  I think I went home and did a dance.

Yesterday I did 3 miles at an 11 min./mile pace. I took it easy and didn’t try to push it too much.  I knew it was going to be my last run before the race and I just wanted to get some miles in.  It’s all hydrating and yoga from here on out.

Despite specifically trying to not over do it, my right knee started to hurt right after my run. I don’t really know why because I didn’t have any real pain during my run.  Unfortunately my knee still hurts today.  I am going to baby it today and ice it tonight and hope that it starts feeling better soon.  I don’t want a sore knee for the race!

Other than dealing with my knee pain, I think I am as ready as I am going to be for this race.  I need to wash my running clothes (picked up a long-sleeve moisture wicking shirt and fleece zip-up on Saturday) and get everything packed.  I think that’s really all that’s left.

My first goal for this race is to have a good time.  My second goal is to beat my current (and only) race time of 33:53.  And my third goal is to go for broke and try to finish under 30 minutes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 11:47 pm

    Good luck cracking 30! I think your goals are great. 🙂

    Knee pain sucks. Hopefully it resolves quickly and doesn’t turn out to be a big deal. I’ve had knee troubles related to my IT bands over the past year. Not fun to deal with, but could be worse. Enjoy the time with your family!

  2. Casey permalink
    November 24, 2010 8:55 am

    Good luck on your Turkey Trot tomorrow! I’m from PA too and found your blog through a search! I started running in at the end of July and ran my first 5K in October (in Harrisburg). I’m thinking about trying out a 10K next. I loved your 4 mile post! A few Fridays ago, I ran 5 miles straight! I took a picture of my garmin and sent it to my boyfriend at work because I was so proud of myself!

    Have a great Thanksgiving with your family!!

    • November 24, 2010 9:04 am

      Thanks! I started running in February and ran my first 5K in May (to benefit the Harrisburg Humane Society). I’d really like to do a 10K soon. Once I can find a local one!

      You have a wonderful Thanksgiving too!

  3. November 24, 2010 3:28 pm

    Good luck at the Turkey Trot Holly! Have a nice holiday!

Leave a Reply

