Skip to content

4 Miles!

November 14, 2010

This morning I was determined to get up and go for a run. I hadn’t done any form of exercise the 3 previous days because I felt like I was on the verge of getting sick and wanted to get as much rest as possible to avoid illness.  (Unfortunately I have been feeling like I am about to get sick for a week and a half.  I haven’t gotten sick, thankfully, but neither have I felt completely well.)

I was out the door around 9 a.m. and I was interested in checking distances on a loop that I had mapped out in my head.  The day was beautiful, nice and full of sunshine.  I started on the loop and I felt pretty good. Not as heavy and slow as I had been feeling lately.  I hit the end of mthe loop, checked RunKeeper and discovered that my loop was almost 2 miles exactly.  Nice!  I was hoping for a loop that was either 1 1/2 or 2 miles long.  Score!  Now I have some place to go run where I don’t have to constantly be checking RunKeeper for my distance.

I had already planned on running at least 3 miles, so I thought “What the heck?!  I am going to run 4 miles today!” and off I went on another loop.  This may not be a big deal to most people but the only time I have ever run 4 miles before was doing walk/run intervals on the treadmill before.  I have never run 4 miles straight.  I have never run more than 3.1 miles straight.  I have never run 4 miles outside.  Until today!  I got out there and I did it. I didn’t even think about quitting.  I did have to pause 3 times to tie my shoelaces and I did walk for a minute or so right after mile 2 so that I could take off my hoodie and tie it around my waist but other than that I was running.

Check it –

My average pace was 11 min./mile.  I’m not fast but I am okay with that!  11 min./mile may not impress some but I am happy with it.  I started out running a 12 min./mile pace so this is improvement.

Here are my splits:

I am really proud of those first 2 miles.  I would really like to get under a 10 min./mile pace.  I am really working on it.

I am proud that I ran 4 miles today.  I am proud that I was able to maintain a decent pace for all 4 miles.  I am proud of myself for sticking with it and working hard to improve my running ability.

In non-running news, recently I completed a commissions for a friend.  Earlier this year I made this top.

Modeled by yours truly!

Well, my friend liked the top and requested one for herself.  I was happy to oblige!  She also wanted a necklace to match said top, so I made her this as well:

Both items are on their way to their new home now.  Hopefully she loves them!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 9:13 pm

    Great job with the 4-mile run – you should be very proud. And speed isn’t as important as getting out there and putting in the time and distance. Good for you!

  2. November 14, 2010 11:22 pm

    I was already going to comment on your 4 miles (amazing splits, great job) and then I saw my new top and necklace! SO EXCITED!!

    • November 16, 2010 11:16 am

      Thanks! I was happy to actually feel good running and not so weighed down and plodding.

      I hope you love them both in person! The top is fairly long but I made it the length you indicated, so hopefully it is what you want. But I think you might be a little taller than me… so that would make a difference too.

  3. November 15, 2010 10:22 am

    That’s awesome about the 4 miles!!!! bet it felt amazing!

    and that top looks awesome 🙂

  4. November 21, 2010 10:26 am

    Oh my goodness you are talented! The top is adorable & that necklace is cute!
    Great job with the 4 miles 🙂 You should be proud!

Leave a Reply

