Skip to content

Farmers Market Saturday

November 6, 2010

When I got up this morning  I felt awful.  Just sick and ugh.  I took some Dayquil and used a nasal spray and went back to sleep for a few hours.  I felt much better when I woke up.  Thank goodness!

So I went to the farmers market.

Check out my haul:

1 butternut squash
bag of spinach
green beans
4 bananas
1 carrot
2 small zucchini
beets
joni gold apples
2 lb. ground chuck
1 lb. cajun sausage
3 heads of broccoli
2 sweet potatoes
1 mini shooefly pie
1 mini pumpkin roll
2 maple glazed pumpkin donuts
2 chocolate chip cookies
And I also got a hamburger that I ate while I was there

Cost ~ $41

And we have enough staples (pasta, rice, etc.) and meet in the freezer that we won’t need to go to the grocery store this week.  Actually when we’re able to hit the farmers market every Saturday we generally only go to the grocery store once a month-month and a half.  We prefer getting our food from the farmers market and we love the people there.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 2:07 pm

    Looks like a great farmer’s market haul. Yum – love local foods when I can get them.

  2. November 8, 2010 8:33 am

    what a great haul! that’s awesome that you can even avoid the grocery store. great prices too! my fiance and I tried so hard to do more farmers market shopping this past summer but we found prices were so much higher at the markets vs. the grocery store – makes it tought when you’re on a tight budget sadly.

    • November 11, 2010 12:17 pm

      I love that we can get most of what we need at the farmers market. I think it helps keep our grocery bill in check because we’re not tempted by things we don’t need at the grocery store. I actually spend less at the farmers market than I would at the grocery.

  3. November 9, 2010 9:10 am

    Your haul looks amazing! Beautiful, seasonal, fresh. FM is done here, so I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

