Skip to content

HIIT

October 26, 2010
tags:

As I said in my last post that wasn’t a picture post or contest winner announcement, I have been throwing some HIIT workouts into my exercise routine.

I’m still running (Of course!) and I try to do yoga at least once a week, though that has gotten harder since OnDemand removed all of their yoga selections.  I shake my fist at you OnDemand!  Thankfully yogadownload.com exists and I was able download a few 20 min. yoga classes, including one called Yoga for Runners.

Anyway… where was I?

Oh yeah! HIIT!  HIIT stands for high intensity interval training and it is not easy! However, it’s a great way to work on your cardio and get your heartrate soaring.  You can do HIIT workouts while running or cycling.   HIIT is also sometimes call sprint interval training. HIIT workouts are usually not very long and consist of a warm-up, followed by 6-10 repetitions of high intensity exercise with very rest periods between each high intensity burst and then cool down. Most workouts are under 20 min. long. The key is to really push yourself.   (But not to the point of injury!)

But you’re not limited to running and cycling!  The HIIT workouts I have been doing involve push-ups, pike jumps, burpees, mountain climbers and more! So I am combining killer cardio with strength and I love it!  I have been getting my HIIT workouts from bodyrock.tv.  I love the workouts posted there.  They are intense!  And Zuzana, the blogger there, really goes out of her way to explain the how-to and proper form of each move.  Another thing I love about the workouts on bodyrock.tv is that they can all be done at home!

Some of the benefits of high intensity training are said to be:

  • improved athletic performance
  • effective method of burning fat, turns your body into a fat burning machine
  • improved endurance and stamina
  • train the body to produce and use energy anaerobic energy
  • effective way to increase your VO2 max

It is generally recommended to have at least a day of recovery between HIIT workouts.

Want to learn more about HIIT?

Here are some great links:

Do some research for yourself and see what you think!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 11:03 am

    I love HIIT — I’m a bodyrock fan as well 🙂

  2. October 29, 2010 2:21 pm

    Holly I just recently f0und Bodyrock — I love it!!!

Trackbacks

  1. sweating the home workout « ARoadMoreBalanced
  2. World’s Almost Most Boring Dinner | The Couch Potato Athlete

Leave a Reply

