Skip to content

Running Group and Turkey Trotting

October 14, 2010

Yesterday was Wednesday, so that means last night was running group! Except…  we weren’t so much a group last night as a trio…  It was good to get out and hit the pavement anyway!  Last night we ran part of a 5k route.  I think we did between 2.25 and 2.5 miles.  I forgot to check my watch when we started but we finished in around 25 min.  Not too shabby!

Boy, were my hamstrings tight though.  That would be thanks to the HIIT workout, I did on Monday.  (What’s HIIT?  High Intensity Interval Training!  Yeah, buddy!  My next post will be all about HIIT.  Are you excited?  I am because I am all about HIIT lately.)  But I’ve been stretching the ol’ hammies like crazy and they are on their way to recovery.

We talked a bit about goals last night while we were cooling down.  I have 2 goals right now.  One is to run a 10K. Unfortunately I haven’t found a 10K to shoot for yet and I will be the first to admit that I have slacked on my 10K training.  I have not been running as much as I should be.  This is mostly due to the fact that I can no longer run outside in the morning since it is no longer light out at 6 a.m.  Maybe this will change after Daylight Savings Time takes effect?  I need to buckle down and do a at least one morning run on the treadmill during the week, run with running group on Wednesday nights and then get outside and run sometime during the daylight hours on weekends.

My other goal is that I want to run a 5K in under 30 min. Debbie, our running group leader, thinks I can do it.  And in that spirit I decided to sign up for this Turkey Trot 5K on Thanksgiving day!  I’m excited because this will be my second 5K race (unless I sign up for another between then and now) and it is being held near my childhood hometown, which is perfect because we’re heading home for Thanksgiving.  I think the husband’s younger brother is going to run the race with me.  And I know at least one of the girls I used to be on the track team with (I was a long and triple jumper!) will also be running the race.

Now, I mentioned that I have been doing HIIT but don’t think I have forgotten about yoga!  This morning I had planned on doing some yoga for my morning workout.  Lo and behold, I flipped on the TV and went to hit up Exercise TV OnDemand to find that all of the yoga workouts are gone! All of them!  I was so sad!  guess i am going to have to seek out some yoga videos online.  I ended up going a 30 min. pilates workout and a 14 min. cardio workout.  I’m still sad that there wasn’t any yoga though.  😦

I’ve been trying to mix in more intense strength training and yoga into my exercise routine.  I think it’s very important for runners to do strength training and to also make sure they are well stretched so as to prevent injury. But more on that in my next post about HIIT!

~~~~~

Do you work a lot of variety into your exercise routine?

What are your current goals?

Have you entered the pumpkin giveaway?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty (the_laugh) permalink
    October 14, 2010 9:50 am

    Seriously? The yoga work-outs are gone? That doesn’t make any sense.

    I am trying the body by Bethenney work-out tonight.

    • October 14, 2010 9:52 am

      I couldn’t believe it myself but… yeah… the whole yoga section is gone. Yoga and pilates are now combined and the only routines under that heading are pilates routines. Very disappointing!

  2. Nori permalink
    October 17, 2010 11:23 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try HIIT, but I’m not really sure how to implement it! I’m going to start throwing sprints into my runs (I haven’t sprinted since high school.), so I figure that will be a start.

    I think you HAVE to vary your workouts to keep from becoming bored and to keep your body from getting used to a specific activity. I try to do Zumba twice a week (which I think you would love), lift weights 3-4 times a week, run twice a week, and either play tennis or hit the elliptical for a bit one other day. I’m really wanting to get a bike, too!

    You can totally run a 5K in under 30 minutes! That was my goal for the one I ran on Saturday, but I finished in 30:38. I’m happy that it was so close, but mad at myself because I KNOW that I could have pushed myself harder. Oh well! Hopefully I can find a local Turkey Trot to run in.

    My other goal is to find the patience to break in my Vibrams.

    • October 21, 2010 11:25 am

      Here’s the wikipedia link for HIIT – maybe that will give you a jumping off point – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-intensity_interval_training.

      Right now I try to get in about 3 days of running a week (haven’t been hitting that recently), a day or 2 of HIIT and some yoga. We’ve been pretty busy, so I haven’t gotten in as many workouts per week as I had been.

      I really want to be able to finish under 30. It’s a pretty lofty goal though because I don’t know that I have ever run a mile under 10 min.

Leave a Reply

