Skip to content

Whew!

October 5, 2010

Did everyone have a good weekend?  Did you do anything fun?

I have been so busy lately!

Last weekend my mom and grandma came to visit.

We had a great time!  On Saturday, Sept. 25,  we took a day trip to GettysburgMy mom and I went on a 2-hour, historical trail ride. It was fantastic!  Our battlefield guide was awesome and spoke for the entire 2 hours.  It was amazing to be in a place with such a rich history. And to experience from the back of a horse?  Even better in my opinion!  I love riding!

It was windy!

When I was younger I was in Girl Scouts and my mom was my troop leader.  We actually took horseback riding lessons as a troops for a while!  Riding at El Rancho De Paz is one of my favorite childhood memories and horses are still one of my favorite animals.

Unfortunately grandma and the husband weren’t able to join us on the ride.  Grandma has a bad back and the husband’s physical therapists told him he hadn’t healed enough from his knee surgery to ride.  The still enjoyed walking through the town of Gettysburg and seeing the battlefield and monuments.

This past weekend my dad and step-mom, Terrie, came to visit.


We had another fabulous weekend! What did we do?  Go shopping!  In our own way.  🙂  On Saturday we went to Kitchen Kettle Village and on Sunday we went to the National Apple Harvest FestivalWe lot to see many local, handmade products ranging from pottery to country decor to tin and iron works. I was on the lookout for Christmas gifts. (Yes, already!)  And I actually managed to find a few!  My dad and Terrie found lots of goodies to take back home with them to North Carolina.

And oh, the food! Pumpkin whoopie pies and shoo-fly pie from Kitchen Kettle Village and and pit beef sandwiches from the Apple Harvest Festival.  Yum!

And you know I had to have an apple dumpling while at the festival bring home some delicious cider!  I love apples!  Definitely one of my favorite fruits.  So common but so good!

And in the midst of all this my position at work was changed and I had to relocate my workspace!

I need a weekend that mainly features some R & R, I think! Not sure that is in the cards for this upcoming weekend though because my friend Allie’s wedding is this Saturday and I am one of her bridesmaids!  I get to wear my pretty purple bridesmaids dress. I hope it isn’t too chilly!  Looks like this coming weekend will be another busy one…  better get my R & R in during the week!

~~~~~

Have you ever been to Gettysburg?

Do you have any local harvest/Autumn festivals?

Do you have anything fun planned for your weekend yet?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 4:14 pm

    Looks like you had a great weekend!
    I have never been to Gettysburg (my visits to the US have been somewhat limited … Disney World a few times, NYC twice, LA once and northern NY state several times for Intercollegiate horse shows)
    My small town has Apple Fest on the 16th! Sadly, I’ll be spending the majority of the day on the road helping my grandma move, but i’m really hoping I can get home in time to enjoy it before it’s over!
    This weekend is THANKSGIVING up here in Canada!!! Can’t wait to get my turkey on! 🙂

  2. October 5, 2010 9:24 pm

    All those pictures look awesome! Glad you had a great weekend!

  3. October 5, 2010 10:11 pm

    Mmmm…I LOVE pumpkin whoopie pies.

    Have never been to Gettysburg, and being Canadian, I am not that familiar with its history. Sounds like you had a great time!

    This weekend, I’ll be studying, but hope to head to my parents’ for at least one day to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner with them. I’m so looking forward to eating a meal that someone else makes! And pumpkin pie – yum!

    • October 7, 2010 6:59 am

      I love almost everything pumpkin. Mmmm.

      The battle at Gettysburg was the turning point for the American Civil War. It was also the battle with the largest number of casualties. It’s a place very rich with history.

      Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  4. October 6, 2010 1:45 pm

    The pumpkin whoopie pies look great!

    I have been to Gettysburg — we went on a family vacation to NYC, NJ, DC and we took a pit stop in Gettysburg. That area is so beautiful and I loved the museums (with the cannons and uniforms and all that).

Leave a Reply

