Skip to content

A Great Weekend and Morning Exercise

September 20, 2010

The weekend just blew past, didn’t it? It did for me!

On Friday I finished up the 35 fabric pumpkins that had been ordered as favors for an Autumn-themed baby shower.  And it was a good thing I did because my customer was coming to pick them up that evening!

The pumpkins turned out so cute! My customer was very happy.  🙂  Got to love when that happens!  No rest for the wicked though!  I have a line up of commissions, including a top with matching necklace, a mobius scarf, matching aprons for mommy and daughter, baby hats and a couple of scarves in team colors.  Whew!

On Saturday I attended a bridal shower for my friend Allie.  Remember when I posted about purchasing this bridesmaids dress?  Well, dress is for Allie’s wedding, which is now 3 weeks away!  Her shower was a lovely little affair with lots of delicious dips, fresh fruit and excellent cupcakes.

And on Sunday, the husband and I went to the York Fair.

We had fun just walking around, people watching and eating fair food.

Lately I have felt so tired and sluggish.  It stems from being sick recently.  There was being sick, which is enough in and of itself, but then there was the effect being sick had on my workout plan.  Which is to say that it totally destroyed it.

Well, that ended today.  I am determined to get back into the habit of exercising before work during the work week, so I got out of bed at 5:40 a.m. and was on the treadmill by 6.  I have loved getting outside and running in the morning for the last couple of months but sunrise is getting later and later as we approach Autumn and it’s just not getting light early enough for me to feel comfortable running outside in the morning anymore.  Sad face.  😦  So I am back to the trusty treadmill at least 2 days a week.  (I’ll still be running outside on Wednesday evenings for running group and hopefully I can get out during daylight hours on the weekends.)

I think I might be in the minority but I find running on the treadmill to be harder than running outside.  I can’t maintain the same speed on the treadmill as I can when I run outside.  I eeked out 3.25 miles, including warm up and cool down, and I really had to push myself.  My goal was 3.5 miles but I was running out of time.  I ended up burning 445 calories!  I am happy with the distance I got in.  Looking forward to tomorrow morning’s workout!

~~~~~

Did you have a good weekend?  What was the best part?

What time of day do you prefer to exercise?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 9:59 am

    I had a good weekend, I got to meet a MN blogger and I got a lot done around the house 🙂

    Those pumpkins are too adorable!

  2. September 20, 2010 10:14 am

    Those pumpkins are too cute!

    My weekend was ok. Had a migrane all afternoon yesterday after my 5K race.. not fun.

    I’m definitely one who thrives on exercising in the evening. I’ve always done it since I work until 5 every day, so my body is naturally in tune with the post-word execise times. I’ve really noticed how hard my body finds early morning workouts (mostly runs) over the past month and a bit. I’m also one not looking forward to the treadmill. At least I hopefully have another month of outdoor running after work, then back to the treadmill for me too. I wish I had one of those babies at home!

    • September 20, 2010 11:34 am

      Aww, thanks!

      Ugh. I hope you’re feeling better today!

      I used to always exercise in the evening. I did not want to get up and get it done before work. Getting up that early sounded awful! But with exercising in the evening I found we were eating dinner very late and I didn’t have much time to get anything else done around the house. I started working out in the morning and while it was hard to get up at first, I loved how it made me feel throughout the day. And then I have time for cleaning and crafts in the evening and we eat dinner at a normal time.

  3. September 20, 2010 11:47 am

    I love the pumpkins! How cute!

    Great job running! I feel ya on the early morning runs. I can’t wait to get a dog so I don’t feel so scared running in the AM! I plan on getting a reflective jacket and a headlamp. Those plus a dog would make me feel ok 🙂

    • September 20, 2010 11:51 am

      Thank you!

      I have 2 dogs but I find them hard to run with (even running with just one). They want to stop and smell things or go to the bathroom or bark at squirrels way too often and they sometimes run into me or get in the way. The husband hates for me to run by myself any time of day. He is way overprotective!

  4. September 21, 2010 10:59 pm

    love those pumpkins so much!

    way to get those morning workouts in. that’s when I like to workout, just because it means I get my workout in before I get tired out and before I have a long list of to-do’s. but it’s hard sometimes, especially now that it’s dark when I wake up.

    good luck with your house cleaning! I’m glad I’m not the only one who cleans before my mom comes. LOL

    • September 22, 2010 10:22 am

      Thank you! I love them too!

      I love working out in the morning. Like you said, I like getting my workout in before I get bogged down with the day.

      I always clean like crazy before my mom comes and this time she is bringing my grandma with her. Double trouble!

Leave a Reply

