Skip to content

Focusing On Form

September 16, 2010
tags:

I said I was going to and I did!  I fit a workout in Tuesday night.  As I said in my last post, I had planned on getting up and doing some yoga Tuesday morning.  Instead…  I slept in.  But that night was a different story.  I was determined.  Thank goodness for OnDemand through our cable company!  (Not that I don’t have a drawer full of exercise DVDs…) I hit up Exercise TV for my workout.

I ended up doing the 10 Pound Slimdown Yoga routine.

I also did a 10 min. core video that I thought was going to be strength training but was actually cardio.

It felt great to get some activity in after 9 days of no exercise!

But what I am really excited to write about is running group!  Last night was my second running group experience and I have to tell you – I’m loving running group! There were 3 of us at group last night, two ladies that are just starting out with running and myself.  (There are 2 more ladies that are normally there but they ran a half-marathon on Sunday.)  We’ve been running on a dirt track at a local school.   I love the friendly, compassionate, supportive and positive vibe of the group. Our group leader, Debbie, is so encouraging.

One of the main focuses of this group is proper form.  Some of the tips Debbie has given us are:

  • Elongate your neck and keep your head up and facing forward.
  • Shoulders back.  Open and lift your chest.  Heart up!
  • Lean forward, let your feet float up behind you instead of reaching forward with your stride.  Let gravity do the work!
  • Focus on pulling your arms back (instead of pushing them forward) and keep them pointed in the direction your traveling.  Don’t swing them wildly or across your body.

It seems like a lot to think about but proper form is so important!

Last night I believe I did about 2 miles total.  I did about 3/4 of a mile concentrating on form and then did some pace work with Debbie and we adjusted our speed to keep my heart rate in certain zones.  It was a lot of fun actually.  But that might have a lot to do with Debbie being so supportive and encouraging.  She was constantly telling me how great I looked and how well I was doing. She asked if I had any goals and I told her that I wanted to do a 10K. Immediately she said, “Oh, you can do that!”  She thinks that I could be ready to run a 10K  soon despite 5K being the longest distance I have ever run.  She thinks I could be ready by the end of November.  I think I am going to have to find a race to shoot for now!

Check out the calorie burn from running group:

And then I came home and did 60 modified push ups and 150 bicycle crunches and finished up with some stretching – burning 104 more calories!

I would recommend to anyone to join a running group. It has been such a great experience so far for me and I am looking forward to next week already!

~~~~~

Do you take part in group exercise activities or are you a solo exerciser?

Do you have Exercise TV OnDemand?  What’s your favorite video?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 11:30 am

    Your running group sounds fantastic!!!!
    I know of one around here, but sadly their running times just don’t fit into my schedule.

    wow that Exercise TV on demand looks amazing. unfortunately we don’t have anything even close to that up here.

    • September 20, 2010 9:26 am

      I love the running group so much! I am so glad that I was able to find one to fit into my schedule. Hopefully you can in the future!

      It’s pretty darn convenient!

  2. September 17, 2010 9:35 am

    I would love join a group for exercise — unfortunately I start “competing” with everyone and I am better off working out alone 🙂

    I love exercise tv — I haven’t used it in a while, but I like the yoga tutorials since that is something I would like to get better at!

    • September 20, 2010 9:29 am

      I’m competitive but in the running group I’m really focused on learning and not competing. Plus, everyone is at different stages so there isn’t anyone there doing exactly the same thing as me.

      Yoga is great! I don’t have many yoga DVDs so I was glad to find it on Exercise TV.

Leave a Reply

