Skip to content

Sicky No More

September 14, 2010

I think I have gone through about four boxes of tissues but I am finally starting to feel better.  Thank goodness!  I still have a lingering cough but other than that I feel much better!  Thanks for all your well wishes, kids!

I had planned on getting up early and doing an easy yoga workout to get back into the swing of things but, unfortunately, I didn’t sleep well last night.  I think it was because I didn’t follow my usual bedtime routine.  Usually before I go to sleep, I lie in bed and read for a little while.  I did not read before bed last night and laid there awake for what felt like the longest time.  Once I gave up on trying to force sleep and (despite the time) turned on the light and read some, I had a much easier time falling asleep.  Routine definitely works for me when it comes to going to sleep! I guess reading just quiets my mind.

So instead of getting up early, I decided to catch up on some of that sleep I missed since I am recovering from being sick.  I definitely don’t want to set myself back and draw this cold out!  No yoga this morning.  😦  That kind of makes me a little sad… But I am going to try and fit in a strength workout this evening and I will definitely spend some time doing some good stretching, so I can throw some yoga poses in there!

You know what’s funny?  I haven’t done any kind of a workout in 9 days, yet my left knee is bothering me more today than it ever did when I was running or doing joint stressing cardio/strength training. How silly is that?  I think it misses all the stretching I do when I am more active!

And tomorrow?  Running group!  I am so glad I am feeling well enough to go this week!

I had a yummy breakfast this morning of vanilla yogurt and oats with an apple.  It was a grab and go kind of morning because I was running late!  Why was I running late?  Because I was busy throwing dinner into the crockpot!  A roast with potatoes and carrots!

Yum!  That is one of my favorite meals!  Nothing better than a roast with carrots and potatoes slow cooked in all the juices.  Delicious!  It’s a good food day!

~~~~~

Do you have a bedtime routine?

What is your favorite meal?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 9:38 am

    My bedtime routine consists of turning off the tv and computer, getting up to bed and reading for 30 minutes. It helps to quiet my mind and “prepare” for sleeping. Then I brush my teeth, wash my face, etc. The blinds have to be closed because I prefer total darkness!

    I’m glad you are feeling better, and yes, when I don’t workout for a few days I feel more sore also — my body needs the movement!

    • September 14, 2010 2:07 pm

      We have a very similar routine except that I brush my teeth and wash my face before reading. I want to be able to put down the book, turn off the light and roll over. I don’t want to have to get up again. Haha.

      Oh and I prefer total darkness too!

  2. September 14, 2010 9:59 am

    glad to hear you’re feeling better!!!!

    the only bedtime routine I have is brush my teeth, wash my face, pee and hit the pillow! 😉 I’m usually exhausted by bed-time (10pm) and tend to fall asleep pretty instantly. I would like to read in bed, but when I try, I only ever get about 1 paragraph read before my eyes close on me.

Leave a Reply

