Skip to content

Beautiful Sunday

September 5, 2010
tags: ,

This weekend so far has been gorgeous!  It’s 74 degrees here and oh-so-wonderful. I am so ready for it not to be in the 80s and 90s.  I welcome the cooler temperatures!

The husband and I have had no plans for this Labor Day weekend, which means a lot of R & R.  Sometimes it’s just so nice to not have any plans!

This morning I went for a run.  I had planned on doing 3 miles and then decided to do a 5K. Why not?!  The entire run was pretty rough. My right shoulder and neck were stiff and painful because I had slept on them wrong.  I felt dehydrated and my throat was rasping and kind of raw.  My muscles were tired. I didn’t feel as good as I have felt on recent runs.  I tried to concentrate on my form, which I really felt in my calves and I was afraid for a little bit that they were going to cramp up but thankfully they didn’t.  But I pushes myself on.  I was uncomfortable, not in pain.  And so I ran on.

I finished the 5K in 31:20.  The fastest I have ever run a 5K to date!  Imagine if I had been feeling good!

Check it!

My average pace was 10:24 min./mile!  That is awesome for me! It makes me really feel that I will be able to get under a 10 min./mile eventually!

And look!

Negative splits! (Excepting that last 0.1 mile.  Oops.)

The fastest I had run a 5K until this morning was 33:53. (My race time in May.)

I am really proud of how far I have come in terms of improving my speed and ability.  🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 11:20 pm

    Yay! A PB is always a great thing. Way to go! Clearly your hard work is paying off. 🙂

  2. September 6, 2010 10:34 am

    Great time today! Keep it up 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pummy-ummy-umpkins « Self-love and Running

Leave a Reply

