Skip to content

Group and Giveaways

September 2, 2010

Running group last night went very well! I was nervous going in since I had missed the first week and didn’t know what to expect.  It was a bit awkward at first but once we split into two groups it became more comfortable. The group I joined, Left-Right-Repeat is for working on form and is led by a woman named Debbie. The other group, Sneaky Speed, does longer runs and is led by a man named Josh.  Left-Right-Repeat is an all-female group and is much smaller than Sneaky Speed.  There were five of us total, including Debbie.

We ran on an unmarked dirt track at a local school.  Debbie gave me some tips about form, watched me run and had me run with a metronome.  She said I have excellent form and complimented me the entire time. I have to admit, it felt pretty good!  I was worried that my form would be all kinds of messed up.  After working with me a little bit, she had me run with two ladies that are training for a half-marathon.  We did intervals around the track and then did two laps Indian run.  It was a good workout and it was nice to run with people.  Unfortunately it was over 90 degrees!  Yuck!  I don’t normally workout in those temps as I usually workout in the morning.  I am so glad the weather should be cooling down soon.

One thing I didn’t like was there wasn’t a group warm-up, cool down or stretching.  If you know me, you know I am all about the stretching. I love to stretch. It feels so good after a hard workout and I feel much better if I get some pre-workout stretching in as well.  While that was a little disappointing now I know for next time to warm-up and do some stretching on my own beforehand.

Check out these awesome giveaways that are going on:
Laury at The Fitness Dish is giving away Amazing Grass and a Blender Bottle!
Amanda at The Nutritionist Reviews is giving away Best Organic Wheatgrass Powder!
Linda at Craftaholics Anonymous is holding a Modern Bird Studios giveaway!

If you know of any other giveaways, let me know and I will add them to the list!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 8:58 pm

    So glad your run went well with the group! Congrats and i completely agree, love stretching!! 🙂

  2. September 2, 2010 10:05 pm

    I love a good stretch after a run, too. 🙂 It’s satisfying, somehow, to stretch it out after working hard.

  3. September 3, 2010 9:35 am

    I’m kind of surprised they didn’t all warm up/stretch/cool down together. Maybe you could suggest it? Sounds like you had a great time! It is always nice to get compliments from a teacher/leader!

Leave a Reply

