Skip to content

Shout Outs and Owning It

August 30, 2010

How was your weekend?  Wonderful, I hope!

There have been a lot of fantastic goings-on in the Blog-o-sphere lately.  My friend Holly from Healthy Living Holly pointed out this blog post by Rachel Wilkerson about owning it – owning your actions and decisions and refusing to feel guilty about them or apologize.

What a great idea, right?  To me, it’s about accepting yourself as you are, faults included.  It’s about being kinder to yourself. Sometimes “because” is a good enough reason.

So let me own some things for you, my friends.

  • Sometimes I wake up in the morning and talk myself out of getting up and working out.  Sometimes I convince myself I am too tired and sometimes I just feel like staying in my warm bed and snuggling with my dog.
  • Sometimes I let life derail me.
  • I love vegetables and eating healthily but I also love dessert and sweets.
  • I make and eat two warm, chocolate chip cookies almost every night and usually I have a good spoonful of the dough for good measure.
  • My house is messy.
  • As much as I fight it and as much as I don’t want to, I sometimes still think negatively about myself and my appearance.  I slip into fat-talk and negative self-talk without realizing it. It’s a process and I accept that.
  • Yesterday I didn’t eat a single vegetable.
  • I’m not perfect and I am perfectly fine with that.

Sorry I’m not sorry!

Holly (yet another Holly!) over at Couch Potato Athlete recently posted about Faces of Beauty, a blog created by Heather of Heather’s Dish.  Faces of Beauty encourages you to take a photo of yourself from the shoulders up and email it to Heather along with a note (500 words or less) about what you love about yourself, what makes you beautiful and/or your journey to learning to love yourself.  Heather then posts your photo and note on the Faces of Beauty blog to share the positivity and love.  What a great idea, right?

Don’t wait to love yourself. Don’t love yourself 10 lb. from now, 12 miles from now, 4 less pimples from now or 2 sizes from now.  Love yourself now!  You are worthy just as you are!

This past weekend was lovely for me.  On Saturday I got to experience my first ever facial and also got my hair cut. I got a vitamin facial treatment and it was so nice and relaxing!  I felt soothed and de-stressed after that for sure!  The massage was the best part.  I could have laid there for hours!  I can’t say that my skin was glowing afterward but I certainly felt like I was glowing!

And then it was time for my cut!

Here is what my hair looked like before –

Yikes!  A little unruly and unhealthy looking.  That morning I shampooed and conditioned my hair, styled my bangs and then let the rest air dry.  I wanted the stylist to see it in it’s natural state.

I told my stylist that I liked my hair long but I was willing to cut off as much as was needed to make my hair look healthier.  I also told her that I wanted a cut that worked with my natural hair.  I didn’t want to have to blow dry and straighten it for it to look nice.  She said that product was going to make the biggest difference there and gave me some recommendations (which I’ve asked stylists for in the past and always received poor answers and little guidance).  I told her to go ahead and do whatever she thought would look nice with my bangs.  I was in her hands!

Three inches and some snipping around the bangs later and this is what I came out with –

The stylist used Chi Silk Infusion and Unite Boing Curling Cream in my hair.  I didn’t purchase any of the Silk Infusion because I think I can get it cheaper elsewhere but I did purchase a bottle of the Boing cream.  I love it because it gives my curls and waves some shape but isn’t hard or crunchy!    I like my hair to be touchable and soft!  The Boing Cream and Silk Infusion did a great job of controlling frizz too.

Here’s what it looks like today after I styled it myself.

I love it! I love that I can get showered, throw some product in my hair, style my bangs and I am done.  It only takes me a few minutes in the morning and it looks all soft and romantic and pretty.  I am going to be on the lookout for the Silk Infusion but so far, so good!  The husband really loves it too.  He’s only told me so about 20 times now.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 1:56 pm

    Holly 🙂 Your hair cut looks great! Easy to style hair is the best. Considering my “style” consists of a ponytail most days, I have it pretty easy!

    I have struggled so much with the “love yourself now” idea — I kept thinking (and still do sometimes!) that I am not yet the person I want to be, that somehow I wasn’t “me” until I lose X amount of pounds or until I have the body I have always wanted. I am who I am. I am moving forward, thats for sure, but I am who I am. And I need to love myself! And you do too! The fat talk must stop. We all do it but it is toxic. Holly you are beautiful!

    • September 1, 2010 12:12 pm

      Thank you! Before I got it cut, I always pulled my hair up in a messy bun because I didn’t know what else I could do with it easily and quickly. It’s nice to have options now!

      It’s easy to dismiss ourselves as not good enough but I think it is important to realize that ever works in progress are beautiful. You have to find the beauty in the journey. It’s easy to slip back into old habits but it feels much nicer to be free of the negative thinking.

  2. August 30, 2010 2:05 pm

    Love the hair cut!!!! so jealous of your natural waves!

  3. August 31, 2010 10:03 pm

    Your hair looks incredible! I have been toying with the idea of cutting mine off. It is healthy, but just way too long. I am thinking about donating it, so I need to check out who does that here and what the length requirements are. Yours looks so good!!!

    • September 1, 2010 12:14 pm

      Thank you! I cut mine off and donated it to Locks of Love a few years ago. I think they require that you donate 10 inches. You can have it cut just about anywhere, just save the hair (it’s easiest to put a band on it just under where it will be cut and then braid it to keep it nice) and mail it in. 🙂

  4. September 3, 2010 5:29 pm

    Heyyy love your “owning it” list — and I LOVE your bangs!! You look great!

  5. October 22, 2010 4:49 pm

    I just ordered the boing curling product!! YAY! Do you just put it in towel dried hair?

Trackbacks

  1. Meet the Owners 9/8/10

Leave a Reply

