Skip to content

I Need A Nap

August 23, 2010

The husband and I need a break from life, I think!  I apologize for not being very active in the blog-o-sphere right now. I’m working, trying to stay on top of chores and cleaning at home, preparing our food, taking care of our pets, getting in some exercise here and there and taking care of the husband (who is recovering well but still needs a lot of assistance, which I am happy to give).  After all of that, I have enough energy (and time) to fall into bed and that’s about  it!  It’s exhausting!

The dogs think so too.

Sleepy Una

Snoozing Gage

The husband is recovering well. He’s still some swelling and bruising but he is off the prescribed pain medication and is only taking Tylenol when he needs it.  His energy levels aren’t quite restored and he tires relatively quickly but that’s to be expected.  I feel so bad for him because I know he is getting frustrated at his inability to do more.  Right now all he really needs to focus on is healing. Well, healing and school.  Unfortunately his classes for the fall semester start tomorrow.  The poor guy is going to be exhausted this week.  I wish I could take away some of his pain and discomfort and carry it myself.  Seeing someone you love in pain hurts.

My mom was a huge help and stayed with us until this morning. She was here nearly a week!  She helped the husband with his physical therapy, took care of a lot of household chores and acted as chauffeur for the husband.  She also joined me on my morning runs, riding my bike.  I am so grateful she was able to come down and not only because of the great help she gave us but also because it has been a while since I have spent so much time with her.  It was nice to just be with her even though we didn’t do anything special.  I am lucky to have such an awesome mom.

My mom and step-dad at our wedding in 2006.

Despite not getting to bed until nearly midnight every night, I’ve been doing pretty well exercise-wise!  I got up at 5:45 a.m. Thursday, Friday and this morning to a workout in. Thursday and this morning I went out for a run and my mom biked along with me.  On Friday we biked together.  We even took the dogs out for a 2+ mile walk last night. I am proud of myself! It was so hard getting up this morning.  Sleeping on the couch, not sleeping well and not getting enough sleep is really taking its toll on me but I know that I always feel better throughout the day, particularly in the morning, if I get some exercise in first thing.  Morning exercise always makes me feel more alert and energetic and just plain good.

Friday:

Sunday:

Today:

Can you tell I am still loving RunKeeper?

I am definitely going to try to get us to bed earlier tonight.  We both need it!

BLOGROLL: If you have a blog and would like to be added to my blogroll, let me know!  I’d be happy to add your blog!      

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 12:20 am

    Way to get in those morning workouts, girl! My parents are watching my kids this week – gotta love those helpful parents!

  2. August 24, 2010 10:48 am

    So glad you like the runkeeper! And that is great to hear that your husband is doing well. I too want to take stress from my husband and put it on myself — I think its a woman thing 🙂

    You are on my blogroll, and I see I am already on yours! I would suggest Oh Healthy Day and Running to Slow Things Down. They are both wonderful!

    • August 24, 2010 11:49 am

      He is doing pretty well but his poor leg is still very swollen and bruised. His bruises are crazy! I hope he starts feeling better soon.

      Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

