Skip to content

Keeping My Run

August 19, 2010

The husband and I picked up new cell phones last week.  I wasn’t sure that I wanted a new phone because I really liked my EnV2 but the husband was desperate for a Droid.  His phone was not working well at all, my account was available for upgrade, I had a $50 credit towards a new phone and Droids were suddenly buy one, get one free…  so I said, “Let’s go for it!”  The husband was tickled pink and nearly skipped to the Verizon store in glee.

I was concerned about the cost because upgrading to the Droid would mean we would need to get a data plan for my line (we already had one on the husband’s line) but we were able to make some changes to our plan and we should be paying around the same amount we were paying before.  Score!  We are now the proud owners of Motorola Droids.

I ordered this cutie pie case for mine –

One of the first apps I downloaded on my phone (Okay, after the Yelp app and Spider Solitaire.) was RunKeeperI used it for the first time today and so far I am loving it so hard!

This morning I rolled off the couch at 5:50 a.m., strapped my shoes on my feet and I was ready to go. (I have been sleeping on the couch the past few nights and the husband has been sleeping in the recliner in the living room because he hasn’t felt up to tackling the stairs quite yet.  I want to be nearby in case he needs anything.)  My mom was also up and about and she biked along with me as I ran.  It was nice to have the company!  Running felt good this morning, my legs are still pretty sore from Monday’s burpees and air squats but it felt nice to get out and get them moving.

Mom riding along on my bike.

Prior to getting this app, I had no real way to track my runs outside.  I could map them out and record how long the run took me after the fact but I had no way to know my pace or how far I had gone during my run.  Running outside used to be a little frustrating for me because I was accustom to seeing my pace, time and distance on the display of my treadmill.  I wanted that outside! Having that information at my fingertips during my run today was fantastic!  It allowed me to ensure that I was running at an appropriate pace and I was able to make adjustments during my run. Awesome! And the app saves all your information, along with a map, for you to access later, either from your phone or the website.  You can even share your run on Twitter or Facebook!

Check it out!


I ran all 2.5 miles without stopping to walk.  I didn’t feel the need to!  I generally run at a 12 min./mile pace on the treadmill (though lately I have been trying to increase my speed) and my average pace for today’s run was 11:26 min./mile.  Not too shabby considering I haven’t run outside in a long while!  I felt good, really good. I actually kicked it up a notch for the last quarter mile and finished at an 8:20 min./mile pace!  It was awesome.  I can’t wait until the husband’s knee is well enough that he can ride his bike along with me on a run!  He loves going for bikes rides so it shouldn’t be too hard to convince him!

Look, it even figured out the splits for me!


I wore my heart rate monitor as well to see how accurate RunKeeper estimated calories burned, it wasn’t too far off!  It estimated 324 calories burned just during my run and my HRM determined I burned 362 total, which included a cool down walk.

~~~~~
Do any of you use RunKeeper?  Let me know and I will add you to my Street Team!

Do you use another app to keep track of your runs?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 3:54 pm

    How do you like your new phone? My husband and I were in the same situation because his phone was on it’s last leg. Luckily it was still under warranty, so they just sent him a new one but I have a feeling he is going to want to switch to the Droid when our renewal comes up in the spring.

    • August 19, 2010 4:04 pm

      So far I like it. I don’t know how to use it as well as the husband simply because I haven’t really sat down and tried to figure everything out. The husband LOVES his!

  2. August 19, 2010 9:16 pm

    My husband promised me the iphone – does the runkeeper run on that? – I love your app. My ipod broke – so I can’t even track the runs and am missing the numbers and happiness I get when I see the miles rack up.

    Happy droid!

  3. August 19, 2010 9:26 pm

    I’ve heard those droids are great. I have a blackberry now and love it — it has everything I need. That runkeeper app is awesome! If it works on my BB I will be on your street team 🙂

    • August 20, 2010 8:46 am

      I’m not sure if there is a BB RunKeeper app. I tried searching for it and it looks like there might be but I’m not certain. Let me know if you get it and I’ll add you to my street team!

  4. August 20, 2010 12:07 am

    That is SO exciting!!

  5. August 20, 2010 7:44 pm

    I wear a Garmin Forerunner 305, and I love it! It’s great to be able to track your distances and pace, isn’t it? Sounds like you had a great run. Love runs that feel good 🙂

    • August 23, 2010 9:16 am

      I have never used a Garmin but they seem so awesome! I am glad to have this app on my phone, that plus my heart rate monitor gives me all the information I really need.

  6. August 23, 2010 4:20 pm

    Hi Holly! Isn’t it so fun to be able to track your runs? I use an app/website called map my run (http://www.mapmyrun.com/). If I need to go a certian distance a training run, I can map out my run through my neighborhood and know exactly how far to go. I will have to check out RunKeeper as well.

    BTW I love your case for your droid! So cute!

    • August 23, 2010 4:25 pm

      I love being able to track my runs and other activities! It’s great! I have used mapmyrun.com before but now that I have RunKeeper, I find that much easier!

      Thanks! My phone looks very cute all dressed up.

Leave a Reply

