Skip to content

The Husband and his ACL

August 16, 2010

The husband is having surgery tomorrow to repair his left ACL.

ACL stands for anterior cruciate ligament and is one of the four major ligaments of the knee.  ACL injury is commonly sports related.

The husband severed his ACL last October playing football.  He actually injured it on our anniversary!  We were at the emergency room that night until about 2 a.m., which was really not any fun!

It took a while to get the injury accurately diagnosed. The ER said one thing, the doctor we saw a few days later said another…  We ended up seeing a third doctor, who confirmed that the ACL was indeed severed.  He recommended surgery to repair it.  Unfortunately, due to the husband’s school schedule, we have had a hard time finding a good opportunity to have the surgery done.  The husband happened to call last month to see if they might have any openings available and he decided to go for it on August 17th.  He’ll only have one week to recover before classes begin.  I hope that he’s feeling well enough to handle school by the 24th!

He is having the surgery done at Penn State’s Milton S. Hershey Medical Center.  We have to be there tomorrow morning at 6 a.m.!  That means we have to leave our house at 4:45 a.m.!  So early!  The husband’s mom and step-dad are coming down for the day and are going to meet us at Penn State Hershey as early as they can.  My mom is going to come down that evening and is going to stay for a few days to help the husband out during the day while I am at work.  Isn’t she a peach?

The husband is very nervous and concerned today.  I am confident that he will be fine but of course I do worry about him.  Please keep the husband in your thoughts.

The husband and I, July 4th weekend in Virginia Beach

If I am a bit scarce over the next week, I’m probably busy taking care of the husband and visiting with my mom.  I’m sure you all understand.  🙂

Funnily enough, my mom tore her ACL a number of years ago and had surgery to repair it.  She does still have some trouble with it but I believe the husband’s procedure is going to be different that the one she had.  Coincidentally, mom injured hers playing football too.  (Though she says it was my fault!  I can’t help if I am an awesome tackle!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 3:21 pm

    sending your husband good vibes for tomorrow!

  2. August 17, 2010 7:46 am

    Best of luck to hubby! Hoping for a speedy recovery!!

  3. August 17, 2010 10:19 am

    I’ll be thinking of you and your hubby today! I hope it goes well!

Leave a Reply

