Skip to content

10:09

August 11, 2010
tags: ,

These past few weeks, I have been making it a point to get back to running since I have 10K aspirations.  (I haven’t yet been able to find a 10K in the area to use as my goal but I’m not going to let that hold me back.)

I got new running shoes. Hello, Brooks!

I’ve become reacquainted with my treadmill. Oh, Lavern.

Yes, her name is Lavern.  Don’t judge me.

I’ve been doing most of my running on the treadmill but I know I need to start taking it outside.  I need to break out of my comfort zone. Oh and a Garmin would be nice.  Could someone tell the husband?

I haven’t officially started my 10K training yet because we’ve been so busy.  I plan on starting it in earnest this coming week as we’re finally done with the majority of our summer travels, so laying out the training plan on a week-by-week basis should be easy-peasy, lemon-squeezey.

I will be loosely following Hal Higdon’s 10K Novice Training Plan. I am going to be using Google Calendar to track my training plan.  (And I am going to be attempting to make notes after each workout, so I can really track how things are going and how I am feeling.).  I’m only going to enter my scheduled workouts a week at a time, so as to not overwhelm myself with the big picture.  Tackling a week at a time seems much more manageable and less overwhelming than considering the entire 8 week plan.  I also have a feeling I might need more than 8 weeks and that’s okay.

Check it out – here’s my first week already entered in the calendar!

Sunday through Wednesday

Thursday through Saturday

Since I haven’t been following a training plan the last few weeks, I decided to try and work on my speed after reading Angela’s blog on negative splitsI haven’t been running true negative splits as, so far, overall, the second half of my exercise has not been shorter than the first half.  What I have been doing is trying to make the last 1/4 mile of each mile the fastest 1/4 mile. For example, I typically run at a 12 min./mile pace, so I run 3/4 of a mile at that pace and then kick it up for the last 1/4 mile to a 10 min./mile pace.  I really try to end each mile strong and fast. This has been really fun and challenging!  I’m still learning how and when to push myself and that my body is capable of more than I had ever imagined.  I love pushing myself!

When I first started running, my goal was to finish a mile in 12 min. When I finally achieved that goal I was elated!  Then I wanted to run 2 miles at a 12 min./mile pace.  After a while I was able to do that and I was pumped!  Tackling 3 miles at that pace was extremely difficult for me.  I could not seem to finish a 3 mile run in 36 min. And then I did my 5K in May and I finished in 33:53!  I was so excited!  That was almost an 11 min./mile pace!

This made me wondering if I could run a 10 min. mile. I decided to see what I could do this morning.  I hopped on the treadmill, walked for 5 min. and then did some light stretching to warm-up and then I was off.  I tackled the first 1/4 mile at a 6 mph (a 10 min./mile pace) but I started getting winded and I had to back off a little if I was going to even run the entire mile.  The next 1/2 mile I ran at just under an 5.6 mphI started the last 1/4 mile at 6 mph but knew I would have to go faster if I was going to finish close to 10 min.  I pushed it up to 6.5  and then 7 and finished at 7.2 mph! I didn’t finish in 10 min. but I was very close! 

I finished the mile in 10:09.  That is the fastest I have ever run a mile! I was proud of myself and really just can’t wait to see what I can do next!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 2:38 pm

    That’s awesome to hear you want to start training for a 10K. Good luck! (although i know you can do it!!! I still don’t know how I managed to do a 10K with only 5K training! lol) looking forward to reading up on your training progress.

    p.s. kudos to you for incl the NMTZ into your training. wow! I’ve only tried it once so far and sadly couldn’t even finish! I will beat it one day though.

    • August 11, 2010 3:37 pm

      Thanks!

      I did NMTZ a week and a half or two weeks ago and was nervous going into it. I remembered it being very hard from doing it ages ago. However, when it came down to it… I really didn’t have any trouble at all! I think that might be because I did 30 Day Shred in June, to be honest.

  2. August 12, 2010 9:28 am

    Nice training plan!

    Negative splits can be really tough, but it feels so good to finish a run so strong!

    I’d say get outside and run as much as possible, and not rely on the treadmill — the treadmill messes with my head and when I first started running outside it was so hard.

    • August 12, 2010 10:32 am

      I usually run on the treadmill because the husband is overprotective and doesn’t want me out running by myself. Unfortunately I don’t have anyone else to run with! I usually find running outside easier than running on the treadmill because there are more things to distract me from what I am doing. Plus, I have no way to determine my pace while running if I am outside.

  3. Helen permalink
    August 17, 2010 4:45 pm

    Great idea on using google calendar to track/plan your training. I’m going to set that up as well! I love the stain glass windows behind your television.

Leave a Reply

