Skip to content

Operation Beautiful

August 6, 2010

For those not in the know, the Operation Beautiful book, a wonderfully inspiring project written by Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point, was officially released on Tuesday, August 3rd.

Never heard of Operation BeautifulOperation Beautiful is a movement dedicated to ending fat talk and negative self-talk and change the way that women look at themselves. It’s about choosing to love yourself as you are.  It’s such an incredibly positive message.

Caitlin was on The Today Show yesterday promoting the book.

All week the Operation Beautiful book has been on a virtual book tour.  Each day a different blogger wrote about the book, the movement and what it means to them.  The last stop was with Angela at Oh She Glows.

Angela’s post about Happy Weight is incredible and I recommend that everyone read it. What she wrote really resonated with me.  I could identify with what she wrote in a big way.

At the end of her post, she asked – What would your ‘Scale Disclaimer’ read? What does a happy weight mean to YOU?

I thought I would share my answers here as well.

My scale disclaimer would read: The number displayed here is in no way related to your worth. Beauty cannot be measured in pounds. You cannot measure kindness and compassion in ounces. You cannot measure happiness with a number. The number displayed here has no power.

I completely agree with Angela’s definition of Happy Weight and for the first time ever I feel like I am at or at least very close to my Happy Weight. It is my “goal” weight. No. And that’s okay. I am free from the scale and I am free from calorie counting. They are no longer holding me down or holding me back. I am happy to be me as I am. I love myself as a person and I love my body for all that it does and can do. My goals are no longer weight-related, they are fitness-related and I am excited to see what happens next.

This is just a reaffirmation of my decision to choose happiness and choose to love myself.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 9:28 pm

    What a beautiful post! Everything you said it so true and everyone I’m sure can relate in some way. I did happen to catch Caitlin on the Today Show and since then I’ve seen her book all around the the blogs. I can’t wait to get the book myself, I have so much more to learn and hopefully carry on to my daughters as they grow up! Best of luck to you and your happiness!

  2. August 7, 2010 10:09 am

    I love Caitlin’s message. I think we worry about our appearance because we feel like others will judge us. You are always considered too fat or too skinny. Why can’t we just be ok with where we are? I have been on both sides of the spectrum and now I am just me. I don’t care what anyone else thinks when it comes to my weight or my food anymore. I do what I want for me!

    Have a great weekend!

  3. August 9, 2010 9:18 am

    I love the OB posts! I loved Angela’s post about the scale disclaimers. A number doesn’t define who you are. Obviously if you are trying to lose weight you need to track your progress, but a small gain or week of maintaining does not mean you failed — you are still a valuable, beautiful human being who is on a journey.

Leave a Reply

