Skip to content

Excitement and a Bare Fridge

August 5, 2010

There was some serious excitement yesterday afternoon in the Self-Love and Running household.  I’m not quite ready to divulge as the husband and I still need to talk and share our news with those nearest and dearest to us but expect some exciting news tomorrow!  So stay tuned!  I promise to share soon.  Pinky swear.

(And no, I’m not pregnant!  That’s immediately where your thoughts went, right?)

In less squee-inducing, but still pretty darn fun, happenings – I went to the farmers market in town yesterday evening.  This was the first time I made it to the this particular market all summer!  Bad Holly!  It’s a lovely little market and I was sorely in need of some fresh fruits and veggies!  Our fridge was bare.  B.A.R.E. Bare.  It was a sad state of affairs.

I was able to quickly remedy the situation!

My loot from the farmers market included: carrots (With full leafy tops!  What do I do with those?), chard, baby zucchinis, peaches and a small container of curried quinoa with beans.  I only picked up a couple of things because the husband and I will be hitting one of the other local farmers markets on Saturday.

Who snuck that mini shoo-fly pie and mini apple pie into my bag?  Aren’t they cute though!

Breakfast this morning was a cup of vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1 tablespoon of ground flax and a peach.  Yum!  The peach was perfect.  Just on the brink of ripeness and still crunchy.  I don’t like when my fruit gets too soft and squishy!  I like it when it’s still firm.  Mmm.

~~~~~

What do I do with carrot greens? Are they good for anything?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 2:57 pm

    No idea about the carrot greens!

    Those little pies are so cute! What is in a shoofly pie?

    • August 6, 2010 1:05 pm

      Shoo-fly pie is a molasses pie. it’s popular in this area because of all the Amish and people of Pennsylvania Dutch descent!

  2. Helen permalink
    August 17, 2010 4:40 pm

    I did a search about the carrot greens- interesting!
    this blogger has some good information on them: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:IeNtf1K-0hkJ:greengoddessgourmet.blogspot.com/2010/06/carrot-green-controversy.html+carrot+greens+nutritional+value&cd=10&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

    basically- even though they’re nutrient rich they can also be toxic to eat

Leave a Reply

