Skip to content

Oh Baby!

August 4, 2010

With 24 hours of driving, one baby shower and one day at the beach under my belt, I have returned!  I feel like I have been gone for a long time!

I had a great time and I am so happy that I was able to take this time to go and visit my friend.  It was more than worth all the driving and the days off from work unpaid.  It was so nice to see Bethanne and just be together, talking and laughing.  It’s so easy and comfortable to be with her.  I love that girl. Sometimes being around someone that has known you for so long, knows your past and loves you despite, or maybe because, of it all is just so refreshing.

BFFs! Guess who was laughing when this picture was taken? Whoops!

We spent the weekend talking baby. It seems like everything revolved around the little bean in her belly.

Isn't she cute?

I find pregnancy intriguing and so interesting.  It’s amazing what the human body can do!  And I have started doing my own research since the husband and I plan to start trying to get pregnant within the next year, so it was nice to talk openly with Bethanne about the changes in her body, her concerns and joys.  It was nice to talk with someone about my beliefs and thoughts concerning pregnancy, labor and having a baby without being dismissed because I don’t have any children yet.  She actually gave me four books on pregnancy that she had duplicates of, so I’ve got some reading to do!  I also got to feel (and see!) the baby more and hear his heartbeat. It was awesome!

On Saturday, there was a baby shower.

For me?

Her hubby showed up right at the end of opening gifts.

My gift was the last one opened!  I was so excited for Bethanne to see the quilt that I had made for Baby B and then I had to wait for her to open all of her other gifts! It was like my own special form of torture.  I was about dying from the anticipation!  I am extremely happy with how the quilt came out.  I love it.  I think Bethanne loved it too!  Everyone at the shower ooooh-ed and aaaah-ed over it. What a nice feeling!

And here’s Baby B’s quilt!

Bethanne gave this stuffed hippo to me when we were in high school.

Opening the quilt at the shower.

Yay!

Adorable, right?

We spend Sunday afternoon at the beach.  The ocean was a ridiculous 82 degrees.  It was so warm!  We floated in the waves for about an hour and a half!  We were just out there talk, talk, talking.  I did not want to leave on Monday morning but it was time.  Sad face.

Oh, check out this face!

Bethanne's poochie, Maggie! So cute!

While it is nice to be home (And not driving anymore!), I wish I got to see Bethanne more often.  Now the husband and I need to determine when we can go down and meet Baby B after he is born!

I didn’t get in any exercise while I was away (unless floating in the ocean counts) but, after catching up on sleep last night and the night before, I am ready to get back to my morning workout routine tomorrow!

Tonight I am going to the farmer’s market in town because the fridge is bare!

~~~~~
Do you live nearby many of your friends or do you need to plan a road trip to visit them?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 10:30 pm

    That quilt is adorable!

    My closer friends live at least an hour away, so it takes some planning, but we still see each other a few times a month. I love those friends that you can pick up where you left off, even if you haven’t seen each other in months.

Leave a Reply

