Skip to content

I’m Leaving… In My Saturn…

July 29, 2010

Okay, so it doesn’t work as well as Leaving on a Jet Plane but at least I tried.  A for effort?

I leave tonight for a long weekend “vacation” to visit Bethanne.  I am driving to Baltimore tonight and I’ll get up bright and early tomorrow and make my way down to South Carolina.

Tomorrow is going to be a long day in the car but it is worth it to see Bethanne!

Bethanne and I met in grade school.  We were in the same Girl Scout Troop.  We have one of those friendships that is just effortless. We can go for long stretches of time with out speaking or seeing each other and then just pick up right where we left off.  It’s just so… nice.

Bethanne and I graduated from the same high school but then went on to attend different colleges.  We visited each other at college, graduated from our respective universities,  got jobs two hours apart, got engaged, got married.  And then she moved to South Carolina and I moved to southern Pennsylvania.  We now live 12 hours apart, which means we don’t get to see each other very often at all. Sad face.

This past December she drove up to visit, surprising me on my birthday.  I could not believe it when I saw her standing there.  It had been two years since we had seen each other!

Now that she is pregnant with her first baby, I had to go visit.  I need to see her baby bump in person, see her pregnant glow, try to feel the baby kick, just spend some time with her before her life changes dramatically. She is due in October and she is so excited and happy.  I am so, so happy for her and her husband.  I know she is going to be a great mom.  I wish we lived closer to one another so that I could go through this process with her but such is life.

There is a baby shower for her on Saturday, before which we plan to go get pedicures.  I am looking forward to both!  I wasn’t able to make her baby shower in New York, so I am happy that her S.C. friends planned a shower for her during my visit so that I could attend.  Other than that I have no plans, I just want to spend time with Bethanne.

But first I have to tackle that drive!  I plan on arming myself with plenty of water and snacks and maybe a cappuccino or two!

I’ll be driving back on Monday, so expect to hear from me again on Tuesday!

~~~~~

Do you have any friendships that just feel effortless?

What are your favorite snacks to bring along on a long drive?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 9:12 am

    I have a few friends like that. We can talk every day or once a month and it still feels like old times. We never run out of things to say, it is wonderful!

    Enjoy your time with your friend, and yes get a cappuccino or two for the road!

    I like to bring a small cooler with grapes, berries, apples, veggie sticks, nuts, clif bars, lara bars, bottles of water, etc.

Leave a Reply

