Skip to content

Breakfast Fail

July 28, 2010

Last night I got myself all hyped up to make overnight oats. I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of cold oatmeal but with everyone in the blogosphere raving about overnight oats, I simply had to give them a try!  I didn’t follow a recipe exactly (which may have been my first mistake…) but I was optimistic.  I started with 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt (honey flavor), 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 a cup of milk and two tablespoons of ground flax, vigorously stirred everything together and set it in the fridge to chill overnight smacking my lips in anticipation.

When I pulled it out this morning, I had something that smelled like oats and almost looked like oats but was the consistency of paste.  It was so cold and gummy and unappealing!  I wrinkled my nose a little bit but I was not giving up on these oats.  Oh no, I wasn’t.  Overnight oats and I were committed now.  We were in this together.  I added a couple of splashes of milk to the bowl to thin it out, along with one teaspoon of cocoa powder and a tablespoon of brown sugar for some flavor.  I gave it a taste-test and wasn’t impressed.  Should I add more cocoa?  I didn’t want to make it bitter…  I had already planned top it off with banana soft serve, maybe that would save it?

So I got out my frozen banana and went to work.  Unfortunately my mini food processor was not up to the task of banana soft serve.  Now I know that I need to get out the actual food processor for whipping frozen bananas into soft serve…  But I didn’t have time for that this morning after messing with the mini, so I plopped my chunky banana soft serve (Now with big hunks of frozen banana!) onto my oats and I sat down to eat.

I tried very hard to like it. I mean… like… really, really hard.  But it was very… blah.  It was like eating the color beige. The only good part was the chunky banana soft serve!  The oats themselves were boring and tasteless.  It was a very sad state of affairs.

I didn’t take any photos of this mess because I think the photos would probably cause depression in those that viewed them.

One good thing that I can say is that my bowl of beige was very filling.  Perhaps if I follow a good recipe next time, maybe something with fruit, there is hope for my relationship with overnight oats.  I am willing to give you another chance, overnight oats, despite our lumpy, gummy start.

All in all, this morning was a big breakfast fail!

~~~~~
Have you tried overnight oats?

Do you have any favorite overnight oats recipes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 1:02 pm

    I have tried overnight oats and I wasn’t a fan. Mine came out really runny (I didn’t follow the recipe though, so that was probably my problem!). The closest thing to overnight oats that I really like is the breakfast cookie on Fitnessista’s page. Those are delicious and are a form of cold oats.

    • July 29, 2010 8:27 am

      I think I am going to try them again at some point (and I am going to follow a more distinct recipe this time!) but I’m just not sure cold oats are for me. I may just have to stick to my hot oatmeal, which I love oh so much.

      Another alternate form of oatmeal is baked oatmeal. I’ve made that before and it was yummy. Very grab and go.

Leave a Reply

