Skip to content

Oodles of Baby Quilts

July 27, 2010
tags:

I love giving gifts!  I love gift-giving occasions!  Christmas, birthdays, weddings, new babies – you name it, I love it. I just love being able to brighten someone’s day with a special something. It makes me feel all gooey and squishy inside like a toasted marshmallow.  And it’s exciting!  It makes me all giddy and I jump around and clap my hands, shrieking in delight.  No really…  Check out this picture from my husband’s birthday, I’m nearly out of my mind with squee.

Whenever possible, I like to give a gift that has been made by my own two little hands. I enjoy sewing, crocheting, knitting and making jewelry (among other things).  In the past two years I’ve gotten the chance to make quite a few baby quilts. So many of my friends are having babies!  It’s like we hit 25 and suddenly it was time to procreate.  Funny how that happens, isn’t it?  Baby quilts are just so fun to make.  There are so many cute patterns and adorable fabrics out there.  Monkeys are big right now.  Oh, the monkeys.  They give me heat palpitations, they are just so darn cute.  The awww-inspiring options out there are endless!

I was introduced to quilting by a good friend of mine named Lizi. She’s quilted for years and her quilts are just beautiful.  One weekend when visiting she offered to show me how to make a scrap quilt and I jumped at the chance!  Together, we made a hand-tied, lap quilt over the course of the weekend. My first quilt!  We created the blocks from scraps of fabrics leftover from other her projects over the years, hence why it was called a scrap quilt!  I was so proud and happy.

The quilt Lizi and I made. Supoer cute, right?

I enjoyed making my scrap quilt with Lizi so much that when my mom asked me if I wanted to take a quilting class with her, I said, “Of course!” Honestly, who doesn’t like making pretty things?  In that class I worked on a queen-size quilt top that is composed of music-themed fabrics.  (See what I did there?)  I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I still haven’t finished that quilt. I have so many other projects that are more timely that keep popping up!  I am the type of person who put my own projects on the back burner in favor of working on things I am making for others but I really should get around to finishing that quilt! That class was a couple of years ago and I’ve completed a number of projects since!

I’ve made two scrap quilts, which were Christmas gifts for my Aunt Lisa and Aunt Tina in 2008.  They both loved them!  I think some tears were almost cried.

Tina's quilt.

Lisa's quilt.

I’ve also make five baby quilts.  One for baby Oliver (a friend’s baby),

one for baby Mackenzie (another friend’s baby),

one for baby Mya (yet another friend’s baby!),

one for baby Logan (my nephew),

and earlier this year I was commissioned by my former co-worker, Amy, to make a baby quilt for her nephew that was due in July.  I finished the quilt about a month ago and Amy is coming over tonight to pick it up.  Hopefully she loves it!  It is pretty darn adorable!  The theme?  Monkeys!

This one is the same pattern as the quilt for Mackenzie, just different fabrics.

Currently I am working on yet another baby quilt! I mentioned it briefly on Sunday.  My best friend, Bethanne, is pregnant for the first time, so obviously I had to make a baby quilt for Baby B!  I am nearly done with the quilt (I just have to do the binding.), which is good because I am driving down to visit her in S.C. this weekend and there is a baby shower on Saturday!  I’ve only got a two evenings to finish this quilt and get packed!  I am very excited for my trip but right now I am just focused on getting Baby B’s quilt done!

~~~~~
Are you a crafty person?

What are you favorite hobbies?

Do you like to give handmade gifts or do you have a favorite shop to visit for wonderful gifts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 9:23 pm

    Those quilts are beautiful! I love the one with the dog bones — what cute fabric!

    I do like crafts, sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, card making, etc. I too love to give handmade gifts, it just gives it that extra special-ness.

    Have you thought about selling quilts on Etsy or Ebay?

    • July 27, 2010 9:48 pm

      Thank you so much! Doing themed quilts, like the puppy dog one, is so fun.

      I’ve not tried scrapbooking or card-making but I admire people who are good at it!

      I’ve not sold quilts on Etsy but I do have a an Etsy shop where I sell jewelry and some other things. It’s http://darkeningstar.etsy.com. 🙂 Etsy is more profitable than Ebay, in my experience.

  2. July 29, 2010 11:27 am

    Absolutely beautiful. Many of our textile artists bring their work into our studio – sometimes ‘just to see’. It is always amazing. Felting appears to be growing fast at this time.

    • July 29, 2010 11:30 am

      Thank you!

      Felting does seem to be gaining popularity.

Leave a Reply

