Skip to content

Who Doesn’t Like New Shoes?

July 22, 2010

After completing my 5K in May, I knew I wanted to do another one. (And another one and another one!)  But I took the month of June off from running and did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.  30 Day Shred, 30 days in June – It worked perfectly!  I spent 10 days at each level.  30DS is killer for such a short workout.  In addition to 30DS, I also did 67 jumping jacks, 67 modified push-ups and 67 bicycle crunches every day.  Your probably wondering why I did 67 of each.  Well, the 2010 divided by the 30 days of June equals 67 obviously!  So by the end of June I had done 2010 repetitions of each exercise!  I did throw in another workout every once in a while in addition to what I was doing daily but primarily I focused on 30DS and my jumping jacks, push-ups and crunches.


Okay, here’s a quick review of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred-
I really like 30 Day Shred for a quick and dirty workout.  I did find the some of the moves were really hard on my knees and so I had to stick to the modified versions throughout or modify them myself but I still felt that I was getting a good workout.  Also, proper form is key.  It would be very easy to strain a muscle with sloppy form during some of the movements.  Jillian does go over form pretty well though, so just pay attention and you’ll be golden.  One thing I disliked about 30DS is the lack of stretching post-workout.  Jillian does 4-5 stretches and I personally don’t think that’s enough and did additional stretching on my own.  That said, I definitely got results!  I didn’t lose much weight doing 30DS but I had a noticeable difference in muscle tone and definition, which was awesome.  I was really pleased and love my new biceps.

Okay, back to the running…

I actually have my eye on three or four 5k races that are scheduled in August, September and October.  However, last week I decided I wanted to try for more…  so…

I decided to train for a 10K! I will be following Hal Higdon’s novice training program, though I will be adjusting it to fit my needs.

First things first, I knew if I was going to be running more I needed new shoes.  I had the sneakers that I was running in for two years!  Granted, I didn’t put mega-miles on them in those two years but it was definitely time for a new pair.  I had been running in a pair of Adidas Supernovas, which is a neutral shoe.  (My younger brother, the cross-country-running triathlete, helped me pick them out.)

My old shoes

So last Saturday I went to Appalachian Running Company. While I was there they looked at my feet – bare, in socks and in shoes.  They also looked at my old sneakers and then brought out a number of shoes for me to try. Then they watched me run, both outside and on a treadmill, and analyzed my gait. It was really cool and very interesting! They videotaped me running on the treadmill and then watched me run in slow motion to better see how my feet moved. Their analysis was that I have “tricky feet.” The toes on my left foot point out a bit when I run and also that foot pronates more than the right foot. Oh, and I learned I have slightly curved tibias, though one is curved more than the other.  Crazy!

I ended up getting a pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 10, which is a stability shoe. (I also tried the Brooks Ravenna, another stability shoe, though I went with the Adrenaline at the recommendation of the staff.) They told me at the store that I should run on the treadmill with them for a few days and if I have any issues to bring them back in and they’ll get me all figured out.  Great customer service. There is also a women’s running group, Left-Right-Repeat, that they will be starting back up at the end of August that I think I am going to take part in. Yay!

The new shoes!

I’m still getting used to the Adrenalines.  I’m particularly sensitive about my arches and tend to get cramping and pain if there is too much pressure in that area.  In my Supernovas, I can’t actually feel the shoe touching my arches at all but I definitely can in the Adrenalines.  But I notice the arch support much more when I am standing and walking than I do when I am running.  I think I am just worried about it bothering me and so I focus on it but it doesn’t actually seem to be an issue. I am going to keep working with them for the week though and see if I like them as much at the end of the week as I did at the store.

One thing I liked about the Ravennas over the Adrenalines was the heel cup, when I mentioned this to the salesperson, she said “Oh, let me show you this lacing technique that might help!  It should snug up the heel for you!”  What she showed me was lock lacing, which I had actually been doing on my own since sometime in high school.  Lock lacing your shoes will help prevent heel slippage.  It tightens the shoe in the heel area and ankle but doesn’t affect the tightness of the rest of your lacing.  There are actually a lot of different lacing techniques (scroll down) for various shoe/foot issues!

How to lock lace your shoes (The way that I learned.  Featuring my new shoes!):
Lace the shoe normally until you have only 2 eyelets left open.

Feed the laces through the very top hole away from the foot.

Now feed the laces down each side and into the second eyelet toward the foot.

Now cross laces over, and feed each under the vertical section of the other side.

Then just pull and tie normally!

~~~~~

What kind of shoes do you wear for running/working out?

Do you have a special lacing technique for your shoes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 22, 2010 3:38 pm

    Congrats, Holly!
    Love your blogs! I’m so proud of you for all you have accomplished & how your confidence has grown!
    Wishing the very best for you & good luck on your upcoming 10K!!
    Hugs My Friend,
    Amy

    • July 22, 2010 10:12 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Amy! I really appreciate your support and encouragement. You’re awesome! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. 🙂

  2. July 24, 2010 1:46 pm

    Most of my shoes have been Brooks Adrenaline! I am now trying Brooks Dyad. I’m such a Brooks girl. I love wearing my “run happy” hat from them!

    • July 24, 2010 6:37 pm

      I’m liking them more as I get used to them! I almost got a pair of Brooks instead of the Supernovas when I was looking at shoes before but ended up going with the Supernovas obviously.

Leave a Reply

