Skip to content

Busy Busy Bee

January 7, 2011

I promise I’m not trying to ignore my good ol’ blog here.  Really I’m not.  We were just so busy during the holiday season that now that we’re settling back in to life at home, I choose to spend any down time with the husband and our pets rather than writing in a blog.  Unfortunate but true.  Plus there is a ton to be done around that house that kind of got put on the back burner over the past month.  Whoops!

I did make a couple of goals for 2011.  Here’s my list!  (I like calling them goals more than resolutions…  they seem more defined and concrete!)

  1. Run 3 or 4 more 5Ks and train for a 10K, run a 10K is possible
  2. Lose 10 lb. or so (I’d like to be between 130-135.  I’m probably between 145-150 right now…  maybe a little heavier than normal due to lack of exercise at the moment.) and maintain the loss
  3. Read 100 books
  4. Knit/crochet a hat and scarf set from yarn that I have spun
  5. Learn to knit with my circular needles
  6. Before we move, go through our closets and basement and… well, the whole house… and sort through everything and donate/giveaway/sell/throw out the things that we do not need or use
  7. Get pregnant
  8. Travel some place tropical and beachy
  9. Organize the files on our external harddrive
  10. Try my hand at 12 new recipes

Pretty doable overall!

I still haven’t gotten back in to running but I have gotten back in to the habit of getting up early and doing yoga before work.  Oh, and I have been walking to work still.  If I can convince myself to get to bed earlier in the evening I would like to start getting up a little bit earlier and do a short run before doing some yoga.  That would be pretty ideal for me.

~~~~~

Did you make an New Year’s resolutions?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 11:08 am

    Those sound like some great goals! I still haven’t written all of mine down yet, but I do have some goals for the year in mind, like running injury-free this year and possibly doing a half marathon or marathon this fall. I would love to read 100 books, but school definitely interferes with my pleasure-reading. I did have a chance to do some reading over the holidays, though, including The Hunger Games series, The Outcast by Sadie Jones, World War Z, and Never Let Me Go. Happy New Year!

    • January 10, 2011 8:22 am

      Thanks! Your goals sound great as well!

      The Hunger Games series has been recommended to me. I am hoping to read it soon. So far I am on my second book of the year. :)

  2. January 9, 2011 12:05 am

    I’ve missed your updates, but I think your reason for “ignoring” the blog is a completely worthy one & the best way to spend your downtime. You spin your own yarn?! Wow girl. Those are some great goals for 2011. #7 certainly caught my attention…
    I definitely have some goals for the year, but mostly I want to get back to a place where I am truly able to acknowledge my worth & what I offer… Your blog name says it all: it’s all about self love.

    • January 10, 2011 8:24 am

      I am going to try to be better about updating from now on but, truthfully, I don’t feel like I have much to post about! Blogging waxes and wanes just like anything else, I guess!

      And yes, I spin as well as knit and crochet! The husband bought me a spinning wheel a few years ago from Christmas and of course I have a drop spindle as well.

      Haha. I had to sneak #7 in there and see if anyone noticed!

      Good luck to you with your goals. I, for one, think you’re pretty amazing!

      • January 12, 2011 10:10 pm

        You have so many great interests & insights. You have plenty to share with us! But I do know what you mean about the waxing & waning…I’m waning a bit now as well.

  3. January 17, 2011 10:09 am

    #7 jumped right out at me! Maybe because that’s in my plans this year too! Best wishes for a happy, healthy, and fertile new year :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

