Skip to content

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

December 14, 2010
tags: ,

It is currently 10 degrees outside (that’s Fahrenheit…  which is -12 Celcius).  Brrrr! I love the brisk, cold winter weather but I can’t say I really love exercising in this cold!

It has been must too cold for me to think about running outside. I don’t have the cold-weather running gear (nor the inclination, to be honest!) to run in such chilly temperatures.  I guess it’s time to hop back on the treadmill more regularly!

I actually haven’t done a lot of running since my race on Thanksgiving (but I have been doing yoga).  I ran one day the week after the race but had hip pain that day and the following day and haven’t gotten on the treadmill since.  (And to be honest, I didn’t get in ANY exercise at all last week…  Ooops?  At least I did a lot of walking in NYC on Sunday and Monday?)  But I have been getting back into my morning exercise routine this week.

Yesterday and this morning I got up and got in some yoga practice.  Ahhhh.  So relaxing and yet stimulating.  I am totally loving on the yoga again. Pretty hard.  It’s a great winter morning workout for me.  It gets me out of bed and gets me moving and warm.  It works and stretches my muscles and I feel great afterward.  I don’t need a lot of equipment.  I just need myself, some comfortable clothes, my yoga mat, a video and I’m ready to go.

In addition to my morning exercise, I also walk to and from work every day (Yes, even in the cold.  A walk I can stand.  :) ), so I get in a 2 mile walk every week day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 11:45 am

    the cold sucks doesn’t it?! it’s about the same temp here but with a windchill of -22!!! yikes! definitely not outdoor running weather.

  2. December 15, 2010 2:29 pm

    I agree – the right gear is key for running outside. Somehow, I can’t get into yoga, even though so many people love it. Maybe I haven’t found the right video for me?

  3. December 17, 2010 10:13 am

    Holly, I’ve been CRAVING yoga as well & anxious to embrace my practice again. Do you use videos, just do your own practice…? I miss the classes I used to go to before we moved. I’ll probably look into using yogaglo.com once I start working — it seems really great & one of my favorite “yogis” teaches.

    • January 10, 2011 8:19 am

      I am loving yoga still. :) Typically I used videos. I have some saved on my You Tube account but there are also some free ones offered through our cable provider, so that’s really nice! They change what is offered every now and then. I wish I could afford classes but it’s not in the budget right now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

